Fort Collins Colorado Police Announce DUI Sobriety Checkpoints
June 12, 2015
In an effort to reduce Driving Under the Influence (DUI) accidents in Colorado, the Fort Collins Police Department along with the Larimer County DUI Taskforce are setting up Sobriety Checkpoints throughout Fort Collins.
This is not the first time law enforcement officers have used sobriety checkpoints in the area. Officers in the state are just finishing a summer campaign to crackdown on DUIs called "100 Days of Heat." The campaign averaged over 50 arrests each day throughout the month of August, 2012.
These checkpoints are designed to both remove impaired drivers and increase the public's awareness of the consequences associated with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
DUI Laws and Penalties
Colorado state law prohibits anyone from operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If a driver is found to have a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of 0.08 or above the driver can receive criminal DUI charges.
The BAC reading may be taken in a variety of situations, including when an enforcement officer pulls over a driver or suspects alcohol use when a driver stops at a checkpoint.
In Colorado, every driver consents to take a blood, breath, saliva or urine test when they receive their driver's license. Refusal to take these tests can result in suspension or even revocation of one's driver's license. The fact that a driver refused to submit to the test is also admissible in court.
A driver may be charged with a DUI if he or she has a BAC of 0.08 or over. Penalties associated with a DUI charge can include:
Driver's license suspension
A driver charged with a first offense may face a driver's license suspension of 9 months, up to one year imprisonment, a monetary penalty up to $1,000 and up to 96 hours of community service. These penalties increase with subsequent violations.
It is important to note that even mandatory penalties can be reduced. In some cases courts will allow a reduction if the person charged with the crime agrees to enrollment and completion of an alcohol treatment program.
Navigating the intricacies of Colorado's DUI laws can be difficult. If you or a loved one is charged with alcohol-related crime, it is important to take the charges seriously. Contact an experienced DUI defense attorney to better ensure your legal rights are protected.